COAA AMS Reception 2013

Jan 2013

The COAA 2013 AMS Reception was successfully hold in Hilton Austin on 01/08/2013. There were more than 100 participants from US, Mainland and Taiwan attended the reception. COAA (2012) President, Dr. Peter Kunghwa Wang, chaired the Reception. Among many honorable guests, Dr. Wenjian Zhang (Director Observing and Information Systems Department World Meteorological Organization), Dr. Jiao Meiyan (Deputy Administrator of CMA), and Academician Guoxiong Wu (Academician and Director, Academic Committee of LASG, CAS) gave warm speeches about their connections with COAA, their experience in the past COAA activities, as well as their expectations to COAA for future development and their Chinese New Year wishes to COAA members. They joined the former and current COAA presidents and announced the winners of the COAA Graduate Thesis Competition 2012 at the Reception. Congratulations go to:

1st Award, $500 Feng Niu, PhD, University of Maryland
2nd Award, $300 Baoqiang Xiang, PhD, University of Hawaii at Manoa
3rd Award, $200 Zhe Feng, PhD, University of North Dakota
4th Award, $200 Xiaolei Niu, PhD, University of Maryland

Thanks to COAA ITEC ( for sponsoring the awards.
The new COAA (2013) President, Prof. Zhanqing Li, introduced the upcoming COAA International Ocean, Atmosphere and Climate Change Conference to be held in Hong Kong on 19-21 August, 2013, with our co-sponsor Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK).

The conference registration website is available at
COAA extends the appreciation to our kind sponsors for their kind and continuous support to the COAA 2013 AMS Reception:

Special thanks also go to our generous guests who made donations to COAA at the Reception. With your continuous support, COAA strives to keep improving and serve you better in the new year and years to come.

Pictures taken at the event can be found here.